• Dsc 0021 14601271052244

    Welcome to the Dearborn Youth Football Association website

  • Dsc 8831 14601271279798

    Go Tractors!

  • Pioneers big group 14601271433266

    Go Pioneers!

  • Thunderbirds big group 14601271602215

    Go Thunderbirds!

  • Temp file 32 14601271952053

    Thanks for all the help from players, coaches, parents, and volunteers!


No upcoming events




Please see the "Registration" tab for all required forms, submittal locations and dates.

You may email your respective Franchise Registration Coordinator:    
Dawn Werth @ Drobyshew@aol.com (Pioneers)       
Erica Osman @ Osman.erica@yahoo.com (Tractors)      
Angie Hammock @ angiehammock@gmail.com (Thunderbirds) ​

About Us
The Dearborn Youth Football Association consists of three franchises in the city: the Dearborn Pioneers (www.dearbornpioneers.org), the Dearborn Tractors (www.dearborntractors.org) and the Dearborn Thunderbirds (www.dearbornthunderbirds.org).

The DYFA was created in 2000 to offer football and cheerleading opportunities to Dearborn youngsters ages 8 through 14.

At one time, the city had three youth football teams—Lions, Mustangs and Thunderbirds—but one by one the teams disbanded, the last being the Mustangs more than three decades ago.

As a result, for the next 20 years or so, Dearborn children had to join football and cheerleading teams in other communities.

In 2000, however, a new generation of parents and community activists came together to create the DYFA, bringing youth football and cheerleading back to Dearborn.

Originally, the DYFA chartered two franchises—the Blue Lions and Silver Lions—based upon the idea that kids destined to play their high school football at Fordson would be part of the Blue Lions and those headed to Dearborn High or Edsel Ford would be members of the Silver Lions.

The ultimate goal, though, was to have three franchises, each to serve as a feeder program to one of the three public high schools.

In 2001, the Blue and Silver Lions joined the Downriver Junior Football League (DJFL) and played their inaugural season.

During the subsequent years, 250-260 children participated annually in the DYFA’s program, and each franchise enjoyed its share of success on the field, winning at least one DJFL championship.

In 2013, the DYFA created a third franchise—the Thunderbirds—and left the DJFL to join the newly created Western Wayne Junior Football League.

Each of our three franchises now feeds into one of the city’s three public high school football programs— the Tractors to Fordson, the Thunderbirds to Edsel Ford and the Pioneers to Dearborn High.

The DYFA Board of Directors oversees the registration process and the major financial aspects of all three franchises.

Each franchise, however, has its own Board of Directors and exercises a considerable degree of autonomy while administering its own operation.

The DYFA Board of Directors is currently composed of the members listed at our Contact Us page.

No photo albums available